About


The Visual Arts Alliance is a consortium of national visual, media, and craft arts service organizations comprised of artists, curators, art museums, artist-run centres and art dealers, brought together by the Visual Arts Summit in November, 2007.

Objective

  • The Alliance’s objective is for many voices to speak simultaneously with a common message. Partners agree to develop and adopt policies consistent with the vision of a Collective Agenda in mind, and to support and advise one another when an issue arises involving multiple parties of interest.
  • The Alliance is not intended to replace the specific advocacy initiatives that our organizations already engage in. However, in areas of common interest, the Alliance will organize joint advocacy initiatives with a statement and key message.
  • The Alliance does not exist as a formal organization or institution, but rather as a communication network of associations representing the interests of the visual arts milieu. The organizations agree to attend regular meetings and to continue an ongoing dialogue with one another, in order to work on a collective purpose and vision allowing us to advance the visual arts in Canada.
  • Not all partners will necessarily participate in all initiatives; each partner retains the right to refrain from any initiative.

Collective Agenda

A Collective Agenda to be fulfilled by the Summit Partners was developed at the Visual Arts Summit:

  • To satisfy the public’s growing demand for participation in visual culture;
  • To communicate the sector’s needs with a united voice;
  • To provide a secure livelihood for artists;
  • To acknowledge the varied cultures of the indigenous peoples of this land;
  • To reflect the diversity of our society; and
  • To strengthen the institutions that advance the visual arts.
-->

À propos


L’Alliance canadienne pour les arts visuels est un regroupement d’organismes de services en arts visuels, en arts médiatiques et en métiers d’art, rassemblés par le Sommet sur les arts visuels en novembre 2007. Ces organismes sont eux-mêmes formés d’artistes, de commissaires, de musées d’art, de centres d’artistes autogérés et de marchands d’art.

Objectifs :

  • L’objectif de l’Alliance consiste à harmoniser les messages de chacun, afin de parler d’une voix forte et claire. Les partenaires conviennent de créer et d’instaurer des politiques en vue d’un ordre du jour collectif, ainsi que de se soutenir mutuellement et de se conseiller lorsque des enjeux particuliers affectent plusieurs d’entre eux.
  • L’Alliance n’entend pas remplacer les initiatives d’action politique déjà entreprises par les organismes qui la forment. Lorsque cela s’avère d’intérêt commun, l’Alliance pourra cependant organiser des campagnes collectives avec un message et des points clés.
  • L’Alliance n’est pas un organisme officiel ni une institution, mais un réseau de communication entre les associations qui représentent les intérêts du milieu des arts visuels. Ces associations conviennent d’assister régulièrement à des réunions et d’entretenir le dialogue entre elles, afin de travailler à une vision commune : l’avancement des arts visuels au Canada.

Ordre du jour collectif

Un ordre du jour pour les arts visuels a été élaboré lors du Sommet, à l’intention des partenaires qui forment l’Alliance canadienne pour les arts visuels. Cet ordre du jour se lit comme suit :

  • Répondre à la demande croissante du public de participer à la culture des arts visuels ;
  • Transmettre les besoins de notre secteur d’une seule et unique voix ;
  • Garantir des revenus stables aux artistes ;
  • Reconnaître les différentes cultures des Premières nations de ce territoire ;
  • Refléter la société dans toute sa diversité ;
  • Renforcer les institutions qui travaillent à l’avancement des arts visuels.
-->